nashville

18/18

This past week I created my first vision board. It was a time to reflect on the previous year- things I wanted to release or let go. It was also a time to reaffirm and set new intentions for the coming year. As I shift into 2019 I wanted to take a moment to savor my top 18 moments in ’18. (Shout out to my friend Abby for the inspiration!) Beginning in January…

  1. Celebrating 31 in Las Vegas.  My sister and brother-in-law also celebrated their 10th anniversary. We didn’t win any money, but quality time and 70-degree weather with my siblings was worth all the smoke and chaos.  Our trip also included an exciting visit the National Pinball Hall of Fame to even getting to be in two places at once when we visited the Hoover Dam at sunset. A dream come true for this forever Walk to Remember fan.1a57b692-0aeb-46d1-94b5-8b7cae16b065
  2. Skiing for the first time in Colorado. Two of my Nashville bests got to meet two of my Colorado bests and spend a weekend at Monarch Mountain in Salida, Colorado. We had the coziest air bnb that backed up to a coffee shop. We devoured local pizza while dreaming up business plans for future lives in Colorado. The mountains were stunning. Such peace I had never experienced. The rush and risk of flying down a mountain was something I long for more often than I thought I would.e158bba2-ad8d-4af7-a573-cc83959b4c3b
  3. Hosting a house concert in my backyard. This was a dream come true. Live music and my back porch was the perfect recipe for a sweet Nashville night. My good pal Jenny Teator (who just released her first single!) and two of her best gals sang to a crowd of favorites. 3f700f9b-e244-4d96-a249-0ec757de311b
  4. Traveling as the Nashville delegate for Rocketship’s 10-year celebration. Over my spring break, I spent the week in sunny San Francisco exploring and soaking up some West Coast sun. The week also included visiting other Rocketship Public Schools and culminated in a night to honor the organization that paved the way for me to become the teacher I am today.735c8f18-8ef6-4ad9-a5c9-4fa1ec94f102
  5. Attending my first Imaginarium gathering.  I had heard about Imaginarium back in August of 2017 after listening to an Enneagram podcast with the creator. I tucked it away in the back of my mind staying alert for a gathering of some sorts to pop up. It wouldn’t be until six months later during Lent, a season which holds a deep place in my heart. The Lent service was everything I could have hoped for and more. Life-affirming. Welcoming. All. I was reminded by a blessing of ash and glitter that I am God-breathed with a mix of the stars.a840d551-cd30-4472-97f5-6b5925a0795a
  6. Getting my first article published by a well-known education blog! I have taken little leaps to write more and share it with the world. In this piece, I tackled how I have conquered eight years in the classroom.bb47f90d-18d2-41a3-8217-71fd728f8ead
  7. Keeping my garden alive and well for the third year running. I love the peace that draws me into this sanctuary space. I love how it teaches me patience and how there are seasons for a reason. This year I added two raised beds after a wonderful visit from my family. This allowed me to experiment more and successfully grow all kinds of fun veggies including spaghetti squash, snap peas, and broccolini.01c58a11-01aa-4934-975d-68f952173743
  8. Watching Mizzou live in the March Madness tournament. Thankful for friends who know the right people even if our tickets were in the FSU section.1ee57147-107e-4173-9247-29504eaea298
  9. Retreating in the backwoods of Kentucky. I have a dear friend who has a beautiful cabin in the Red River Gorge. I was lucky enough to enough to take two trips this year filled lots of hiking, long morning coffee chats on the porch, and adventures I could have never imagined. 032c2644-2a21-440f-9230-55e9641d28ce
  10. Watching my Pops come home from the Honor Flight. This is a program that honors veterans. They get to take a whirlwind trip to DC to visit all the memorials and honor their fallen brothers and sisters. Then they fly back to a proper welcome with crowds cheering and thanking them for their service.  It meant the world to me to have my mom and sister facetime me in as I got to watch my Pops walk through the crowd beaming with pride. Being a Marine Vietnam vet I know he waited a long time for that homecoming.3d6d3e11-0a4a-4be0-b801-c0c940f5ad93
  11.  Attending a few incredible Enneagram workshops. Between Austin, Dallas, and Atlanta I have learned so much more about myself through the Enneagram. I love learning and growing my self-awareness.  I am currently crafting a way to share what I know with the world.  I also successfully navigated Austin and Dallas completely solo. It was invigorating and stretched me to make new connections.56b1b432-ed66-4d5a-addd-17267246ed2e
  12. Spending a weekend alone in rural Tennessee. I intentionally took a weekend of solitude to a place recommended by my spiritual director called Postinia.  This past year has taught me the power and strength I gain from being alone. I learn so much about myself and how it is the best form of self-care I know.7ec2dff7-1082-4cc2-b355-41bb62239056
  13. Catching a shark. Our annual family vacation was full of fun in the sun and deep sea fishing. I was the good luck charm as the males in my family who usually go haven’t caught anything since the last time I went a few years ago. This time we caught enough fish to eat that night and a baby shark.3656725e-da1c-4684-9bc8-64d8921fdec5
  14. Participating in PRIDE weekend. My Imaginarium community spent the day connecting with people and affirming the inherent goodness and magic through a dust of glitter and color. I think the whole world could use this reminder.326ca03b-5745-4556-b4fd-38c4748699f3
  15. Sistering hard. My sister and two best visited Nashville back in August, and it was a dream. All I can say is when two Enneagram ones move into their healthy seven space- nothing is impossible, and all the fun is had.9bbabb41-843f-40c5-b2d3-27d1fd1d7bcd
  16. Winning a powerpoint contest. I have a gold medal to prove it. One of my school social events was to create a three-minute powerpoint about anything. I decided to make mine about how true love is not lost and to stay hopeful. My powerpoint consisted of slides of various celebrity journeys until they found true love. It was accompanied by an original song that rounds up a bunch of slightly exaggerated break up tales from me and my Nash bests.1f701879-9a0e-4fc9-9193-391271f5aa9b
  17. Moving a tree in the pouring rain. On our way to the Evolving Faith Conference from our prerevolutionary cabin in Black Mountain, North Carolina, a tree had fallen across the gravel road. It was pitch black at 6am and pouring. The task seemed a little daunting, but I just remember screaming “Don’t say we can’t because we CAN.” Then we moved the tree. I was also in a boot with a new broken big toe.b39e54f5-e1e6-450b-9a36-534a0421241e
  18. Planning the ordination of my friend Austin. I had the opportunity to create the call to worship for this sweet friend’s affirmation and calling into ministry. It was an honor, and it ignited something deep within me that whispered, “Hey, do more of that.” I also was honored to sing and return to those worship roots that will always be with me.b6636465-861f-4ee6-9800-6d676b752e4c

There were SO. MANY. MORE. moments- from weddings to camping trips, and sweet moments with sorority sisters, and family,  and many new relationships cultivated which leaves me ECSTATIC for another trip around the sun! Here’s to 2019 may it be even better.

Make it beautiful,

e2c70694-fb5e-41b5-b6f6-b2401ea20837

Sara

Standard

One thought on “18/18

  1. Charlotte Dewrock says:

    You are an inspiration to all that read your blog. “Published” how awesome is that Sara! Hearing all that you do to help the children is just amazing . You are a very special young lady with a true gift.

    Like

Leave a comment